June 2016

stayed an extra night

Donna & Barry are fantastic! They were so sweet to our kids! We even stayed an extra night! The bathrooms are clean, campground is well maintained, & quiet at night. Spots near the river are great & they allow campfires! The location is very close to the Smokey District of the National Forest. I recommend a day trip to the Sacramento District in Cloudcroft.

— Carol H., San Antonio, Texas






What our campers are saying about us!



Submit your testimonial or comments below to share your experience with future occupants!

Testimonials



June 2016

What an asset Along the River RV Park is to the beautiful town of Ruidoso! My husband and I camped there in a travel trailer last week, and we were delighted to have discovered this RV Park. The owners, Donna and Barry, and their son, Matt, made us feel so welcome as soon as we arrived. Donna gave us a lot of information about where to visit, eat and shop in Ruidoso (this was our first time in Ruidoso) and even got a few maps out to assist us. Barry and Matt got us backed into our spot perfectly. The park itself is beautiful, and very well maintained. We had a lovely, shady river site, and even our own swing and fire pit. We met a few of the work campers who were just as friendly and helpful as the owners.

We are already planning our return trip to Along the River RV Park next year, and plan on staying a couple of weeks, instead of just a few days. There are a lot more places we want to see in Ruidoso -- we just weren't there long enough this trip.

— Donna, Tom & Jesse, Arvada, CO

What an asset to Ruidoso!

What a beautiful, peaceful campground. Very clean, very friendly, very family oriented! Bathrooms and showers were very clean!! We didn't catch any fish in the river, but the boys (14 and 2) enjoyed playing in it! We didn't want to leave :( We'll definitely be back again!

— Lisa L.  

five star


5* We loved this RV and Camp Park!! We are planning our trip for this May and will be returning to this campground! The shower house is very clean as well as the grounds!!! We highly recommend this place!!!

— Christen P.

March 2016

We highly recommend this place

June 2016

Small park along Rio Bonito River. Very gracious hosts, Donna and Barry. Great greeting at office by Donna and Barry leads to site. Close to Bonito Lake (closed since fire in 2012), but park and hiking still accessible. WiFi sketchy, but really good 5G at office, never far from any site. We stayed in a 5th wheel in a site right on the river. Swings along the river, fruit trees, short walking loop, and great tent sites. Many regulars. We will go back.

— dennythediver, Tucson 


Great Service

August 2015

October 2015

Beautiful Location

Beautiful Setting

My family really enjoyed the great service we experienced at Along the River RV park this past Labor Day weekend. Barry and Donna are two of the nicest hosts anyone could ask for. Barry helped guide me into our back-in spot and helped to make sure my fifth wheel was level. Donna was very sweet to my daughter and entertained all of her questions. I highly recommend this RV park as camping destination!

— NMMuledeerhunter, Albuquerque, New Mexico


October 2015

We have stayed here 3 times so far when we are doing shows in Ruidoso. The owners are so nice and helpful. The park is super clean and a beautiful setting along Rio Bonito River! We are headed back there tomorrow for another 5 day stay!

— Bonnie G. Los Cerrillos, NM


Highly Recommend!!!

Stayed for three relaxing and wonderful days! The owners were very kind and helpful!! The park was very clean! I highly recommend this park!! 

November 2015


Nice place to camp


August 2015

This was a very nice place to stay. The grounds were well maintained and the staff/owners were very nice. They will even deliver firewood to your camp site if you ask. The WiFi is spotty unless you are close to the building at the entrance, but who really needs WiFi on a camping/RV trip? The views are great, and the camp really is along the river. I would stay here again.

— jdog1713, Lubbock, Texas 

August 2015

Such a peaceful place





We just returned from a three-night stay here. It was absolutely beautiful. Such a peaceful place. The owners are so nice and helpful. We will go back and stay there again. They do offer WiFi but it is weak. Who cares! Put up your phone and enjoy the serenity for at least a weekend.

— Deanna Jones Harville

July 2015

Awesome park

My wife and I stayed here with another couple. Took the motorcycles on some great rides there. The owners were beyond nice. They really made our stay great. Camped right by the river. Not a whole lot for kids to do around there unless they enjoy hiking or the river. I would stay there again.

We're from El Paso, looking for a quiet weekend to get away from it all. The place is beautiful, clean, and peaceful. The owners were there and very accommodating, very cheerful folks. I couldn't have asked for a better get away. My kids 12 and 8, loved it there... The sound of the water from the Rio Bonito River was constantly present. Highly recommended, and thank you for keeping such a wonderful place.

— Flamingo411, El Paso, Texas 

May 2015

Great weekend Getaway


So nice & Very helpful hosts

July 2015

My husband and I felt very welcomed by the hosts who went out of their way to be helpful. I would recommend this beautiful RV park to all. The river ran through the tree filled campground. I would stay there for days if time allowed.

— pjc0traveler, Kerrville, Texas

July 2015

The reviews are right -- Barry and Donna go the extra mile to make sure their guests are happy. They are "hands on" owners and take great pride in their park. We enjoyed our visit and the beautiful river that runs through there. It is not a "commercial" feeling park at all - lots of trees, fire pits. About 10-15 minute drive from Ruidoso and definitely in the country - that's what we like. They also have cabins (and allow pets - something you don't always find). We appreciated Barry guiding my husband as he backed our 5th wheel into our spot. The Alto Café is not far up the road and they have a great breakfast. The weather was perfect in mid July - 78-80 during the day, and 58-60 at night.

— Carol M, Georgetown, Texas 

Lovely natural environment with bridges & Places to walk

Scenic Park + Great Hosts = Wonderful Vacation

July 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at Along The River. The hosts helped guide us into our shady space on the river & returned later to make sure we were happy & had everything we needed. It's a short ride into Ruidoso for shopping/activities & it was nice to have a quiet place to return. The river was babbling & the birds were singing - the weather was perfect. It's a great place to view birds with lots of hummers! We logged 35 different birds in 5 days and another 5+ in the area! As we pulled out to the highway to leave, we nearly ran into a flock of wild turkeys! Cell phone reception was weak but the owners provide a phone at the office for guests. We highly recommend this park for it's beauty and for it's great hosts, Barry and Donna.

— Dahna B, Comanche, Texas  

Overnight Stay

May 2015

Great RV Park. Owners are very hospitable. Barry helps guide large RV's into space. Provides bottom steps. Beautiful campgrounds on river with fire pits, picnic tables, and glider swings. Close to Ruidoso but far enough out to have peace and quiet. Will definitely recommend and hope to return soon for a longer stay.

— Gayla R.                                                                                               

April 2015

October 2014

THE BEST!!!!

First, this is a gorgeous property, and perfectly located. You are a quick 10 minutes from town, but far enough away that you truly feel like you are removed from everything. Just perfect... The river is beautiful. The grounds are well manicured. And the deer right out your RV every morning makes you never want to leave.

Second, Barry and Donna... These are fellow Texans (so I am biased) transplanted in retirement to the mountains of Ruidoso. They are the owners/operators of the park and they truly are wonderful people. They are happy to help with any needs -- from leveling your rig to helping you pick a good place in town for dinner. As beautiful as the property is, Barry and Donna make you feel like family.

FIVE STARS... Will continue to visit often.

— Jay M., Fort Worth, TX


My husband and I recently stayed there for our anniversary weekend. We decided a little peace and quiet camping along a little river but no cell phones just the two of us would be perfect. And it was. Not only is the campsite absolutely beautiful, the hospitality that was shown to us by the owners was amazing. We were greeted with smiles and friendly service, explain how the campsite was set up and directed towards which tent site was ours. It was lovely. It was kind of tucked away in the corner towards the back away from traffic away from the road but just close enough to be steps away from the river. At night we could just lay there and listen to that river go by. It was so relaxing. One of the best things about it was the extremely clean restrooms, and I'm not just saying porta johns I'm saying clean bathrooms with a running toilet and a shower. My husband and I decided we would go fishing while we're out at a lake nearby. It was nice to know that I could take a shower afterwards and the water was very hot. The owners went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable, relaxing, and as peaceful as possible for anniversary. We will never forget this place or our weekend Along The River. We highly recommend this campsite whether you are tent camping or RVing.

—James and Ranie Kirk
Favorite Amenity: The River

Smiles & Friendly Service


My wife and I stayed here for our Anniversary. AWESOME place, great great hosts. I will definitely staying here again and look forward to it. The hosts are great people and the park is beautiful. Had a great time. Highly recommend.

— Kirks, Las Cruces

Outstanding time

April 2015


Slice of heaven

Easter 2014

Barry and Donna are two of the best people in the world. They have worked so hard to make this park a beautiful place and a wonderful experience. We have been there twice and going back for Easter 2015. This is a place we would go to over and over again. Everything about it and Donna and Barry is wonderful. We cannot recommend this place enough. If you are looking for a great, beautiful place to stay in Ruidoso, look no further. This place is it. Definitely a slice of Heaven. Can't wait to get back there.

— Gary and Rennie Prescott
Favorite Amenity: EVERYTHING




May 2012

So beautiful up here

We really have enjoyed our stay so much. We appreciate all your kind help and thoughtfulness. It is so beautiful up here. We will be sure to tell all of our friends and family about your lovely RV park and campground.

— Cactus Sam's RV Club, Roswell, NM

Great Experience

Stayed at Along the River RV and Camp Site 22 - 24th September 2013. I can't recommend it enough. Such a warm welcome and a very good Host. Great camp site, nine miles from downtown - not too far out. We would stay there again if we are ever in the area. Barry made sure we had everything we needed.

— Happy Couple, England

October 2013


We were at your guys’ Campsite a few weeks ago and it was amazing. You all went out of your way to make us feel welcome and you all showed a customer service that is rare to find any more. Thank you all so much. Looking forward to our next vacation at Along The River RV Park.

— L.t. Dean

Customer service that is rare to find



May 2014

The campground has been under new management, Barry and Donna Bell, and they have improved the park and the service so much! We have taken our RV up there 3 times now, and they always let us pick our own spots, he drives you around on the golf cart to show you the sites. They will bring you bundles of wood, and bags of ice! It is absolutely beautiful. This Labor Day weekend we tent camped with friends from Puerto Rico, and when we arrived it was pretty full, but Barry gave my husband the best spot in the park in my opinion. Right next to the river, with a big shore, absolutely beautiful. If you are looking for a great place to stay, please choose this campground!

— Kim S., El Paso, Texas

They have improved the park so much!

September 2012

August 2014

Just the best

We stayed here August 25th.26th & 27th. We were on motorcycles and tent camped in sites T-8 & T-9. I have camped in campgrounds all over the western United States and if this campground isn't a 5 Star then there is no such thing. This is one of the cleanest, quietest and most hospitable venues anyone could ask for. From the solar landscape lights that light your path to the spotless restrooms / showers to the well maintained sites along the Rio Bonito that lulls you to sleep at night. This place is GREAT. THANK YOU Barry & Donna for making our vacation a very memorable one.

— Mark & Tammy Schneberger, Ft. Worth, TX

April 2014


Definitely a place to visit over & over

Dani and I have been here twice now. Barry and Donna are awesome. They are always attentive, Barry walks us to our spot and always helps us level. The area is pet friendly, always clean and the river is right there. Definately a place to visit, over and over. Thanks Barry and Donna for another fantastic visit. See you soon.

— Robert Guile

October 2014

Having too much fun

After a 6 day stay dry camping in the Argentina Canyon near Bonito Lake, we needed a full service RV Park for some luxury camping (a shower, electricity, etc). We stayed here originally for 2 nights but had to extend it as we were having too much fun. The RV park's owners are both friendly and helpful. There are no permanent RV residents, which always make me think I'm in a trailer park rather than a RV Park! Just RV visitors like us. The first night going dry camping, we rented one of their pull-through areas that was nice so we could just bed down, not unhook and pull out the next morning. On the return trip, we got a space at the back, across the bridge near the river. The RV areas were full hook-up and had an indestructible picnic table. About 50 ft behind us was the river and a wooden swing seat for 3 where we sat and listened to the river. There were deer in our spot that we had to run off to back the RV into! Very nice. One of the owners will help you find your site and even make sure the RV is level. Then they leave you alone and let you do your thing. It was quiet at the park...no loud obnoxious music! Wi-Fi back where we were was sketchy. 1-2 bars and with 14 people online at once, slow. We had 1 bar on Verizon MiFi but only about .2 Mbps download, so slow as well. AT&T phones were worthless. No bars at all. I am assuming Verizon phones will work since the MiFi worked. We were in a 35 ft RV towed by a large SUV. Plenty of room and there were Class A's there too. The park is about 15 miles from town on the Hwy 37 that goes Bonita lake area. Far enough from Ruidoso to enjoy the country but only a short drive back into Ruidoso to enjoy the city. We camped at Along the River Park in a Travel Trailer.

— rong1000
Overall Rating: 5 Stars

Hello! Hope you've had a good winter. We will be there a week from today and can't wait! Just so you know, we absolutely love the park since you bought it and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

— Drew, Texas

We enjoyed it here & extended our Stay

March 2013


RV & Tent Campground located near Ruidoso NM in the scenic Lincoln National Forest is a quiet family and pet friendly park. The new owners, Barry and Donna Bell, are a warm and welcoming couple. They are making improvements to this great location located within driving distance of the many great attractions such as White Sands, Valley of Fire, Billy the Kid museum, Smokey the Bear museum, and others. The nearby town of Ruidoso is a busy tourist area for winter and fair weather campers. We enjoyed it here and extended our stay.

— Bob & Barbara, Ontario, Canada

Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else

March 2012

June 2013


A real gem of a campground

We cannot say enough good things about our stay with Along The River! Barry and Donna are fantastic hosts and have a real gem of a campground in the beautiful mountains. A true campground where you can kickback and truly relax amongst the trees and wildlife, have a campfire (depending on burn ban) and enjoy nature at it's finest! We enjoyed dinners together as a campground and made lifelong friends while we were there.

— Bucksandloons.blogspot.com, Maine

5* Barry and Donna go the extra mile to help their campers. We are park host there and you could not ask for a nicer couple. Come on down and enjoy.

— Janis P., Texas

Come down & Enjoy

March 2016

May 2016


March 2016

Had a great time!

Just wanted to say that once again, we had a great time at your place. Another chance to build a memory with my son. See you next time. Thank you.

— TJ, El Paso, Texas

Immediately Greeted

We decided to come to the Ruidoso, NM as a last minute change after our previous plans were interrupted due to weather. When we arrived, we were immediately greeted by one of the residents who was attending to the camp while the owners were away. We were offered the choice of whatever site we wanted, which was a nice change from the typical "you are assigned site #..." Most all sites have fire rings/tubs as well as many had picnic tables. We camped at Along the River Park in a Fifth Wheel.

— Charles M., Texas



We highly recommend this place

March 2016

5* We loved this RV and Camp Park!! We are planning our trip for this May and will be returning to this campground! The shower house is very clean as well as the grounds!!! We highly recommend this place!!!

— Christen P.

November 2015


Highly Recommend!!!

Stayed for three relaxing and wonderful days! The owners were very kind and helpful!! The park was very clean! I highly recommend this park!! 


Beautiful Setting

We have stayed here 3 times so far when we are doing shows in Ruidoso. The owners are so nice and helpful. The park is super clean and a beautiful setting along Rio Bonito River! We are headed back there tomorrow for another 5 day stay!

— Bonnie G. Los Cerrillos, NM

October 2015

Highly Recommended!!!


July 2016

We just got back from our holiday weekend stay, and wish we were still there!! The owners, Barry & Donna, went out of their way to make us feel at home! Barry delivered firewood ($) to us nightly & made sure we were enjoying our stay. Our tent spot by the river was amazing & picturesque! Restrooms were always maintained clean!! Before leaving, made a reservation for our next camping trip in August!!

P.S. my wife says they need more bathrooms! Lol

— Azar R.


This was our first stay at Along the River and it definitely will not be our last. Donna and Barry actually cared that we were there and made us feel very welcomed. Barry checked on all campers in the park throughout the day, which told us he wanted to ensure safety and give campers opportunity for quiet relaxation time. We were impressed by the tidiness of the camp and the updates that Barry told us about. Tent and RV spots available. 30 and 50 amp spots. We can't wait to go back!

— landrus711, Slaton, Texas

Accommodating 

June 2016

We Stayed Two Weekends in a Row

Barry and Donna were absolutely awesome. They are so accommodating and helpful while maintaining a clean and friendly environment. We stayed two weekends in a row and will be back for many, many more. We felt so good about our hosts that we invited them to share our fire-top beef stew, cheddar grits, and corn bread. What a great evening with new friends.

— Jim A, Slaton, Texas

June 2016


June 2016

This Place is Amazing

I've stayed at this place four times. This place is amazing for families and first time campers. The restrooms and showers are spotless. If you are not really into camping, give this place a shot and then judge for yourself.

— Izhar G.