June 2016

stayed an extra night

Donna & Barry are fantastic! They were so sweet to our kids! We even stayed an extra night! The bathrooms are clean, campground is well maintained, & quiet at night. Spots near the river are great & they allow campfires! The location is very close to the Smokey District of the National Forest. I recommend a day trip to the Sacramento District in Cloudcroft.

— Carol H., San Antonio, Texas






What our campers are saying about us!



Submit your testimonial or comments below to share your experience with future occupants!

Testimonials


June 2016

What an asset Along the River RV Park is to the beautiful town of Ruidoso! My husband and I camped there in a travel trailer last week, and we were delighted to have discovered this RV Park. The owners, Donna and Barry, and their son, Matt, made us feel so welcome as soon as we arrived. Donna gave us a lot of information about where to visit, eat and shop in Ruidoso (this was our first time in Ruidoso) and even got a few maps out to assist us. Barry and Matt got us backed into our spot perfectly. The park itself is beautiful, and very well maintained. We had a lovely, shady river site, and even our own swing and fire pit. We met a few of the work campers who were just as friendly and helpful as the owners.

We are already planning our return trip to Along the River RV Park next year, and plan on staying a couple of weeks, instead of just a few days. There are a lot more places we want to see in Ruidoso -- we just weren't there long enough this trip.

— Donna, Tom & Jesse, Arvada, CO

What an asset to Ruidoso!

What a beautiful, peaceful campground. Very clean, very friendly, very family oriented! Bathrooms and showers were very clean!! We didn't catch any fish in the river, but the boys (14 and 2) enjoyed playing in it! We didn't want to leave :( We'll definitely be back again!

— Lisa L.  

five star


OHHHHHHHHHHHHH Ms. Donna Bell.......we LOVED your camp ground! Truely a find for us! We WILL be back!

Thank you for all the little details throughout your park...I saw them and appreciated it all! Benches, feeders, lamps, rocked waterfall in the creek, wifi...we just loved it!

Thank you for this!

Dan & Sherri E., Crowder, OK

June 2018

we will be back

June 2016

Enjoyed our stay and very grateful to get in during week of July 4th. Management is super friendly and accommodating. Thank you Donna!!! Sitting in the cool clear river was so much fun. Will definitely return there in the future:)

— Michele M. 


July 2017

family friendly park by the river

absolutely love it


July 2016

This was our 3rd time to stay at the park. Absolutely love it and the owners are fantastic. Close proximity to so many things to do in the area. This has become our place to stay in the Ruidoso area and we will be back again as soon as we can!!

— Colter H.

lovely setting and hosts!

We were looking for a nice setting and clean facilities for a fun family outing. We had been disappointed with another RV site near Ruidoso. We found what we were looking for at Along the River! Barry helped us park; Donna had firewood delivered to our site; and our kids loved playing in the stream. We had a lovely evening roasting marshmallows and playing Uno. Thanks Barry and Donna!

— Cam T, Washington DC, District of Columbia

July 2016


already planning to come back


July 2017

We are here now got in yesterday and hospitality started before we even got here. I called made reservation then in just a bit Donna called me back saying to just pull into site then come to office. That since we were in 43 ft. motorhome it would be easier. When we were hooked up I was working inside and Barry showed up with a step for us which was a big help. Park is beautiful we have 2 more nights we are already planning to come back with whole family. Barry & Donna are the GREATEST.

— Randy & Sanja, Amaraillo, TX

July 2017

i loved it here...





What I love about Along the River:

1. The owners, Barry and Donna are so nice. Barry chatted with my 5 and 7-year-olds while they were making a dam in the river and gave fishing tips -- my kids were thrilled! Donna lent us her bottle opener from her house after we realized we'd left ours at home! 

2. I LOVE the location. Donna managed to get us a last minute river site. The site was flat and easy for us to level our Class A RV -- My kids would just tumble down the little hill and into the river each morning. There was room for us to set up our chairs either in the river or right on the edge. It was a very peaceful, relaxing place to camp with trees, green and water. 

3. The park was clean. We didn't use the facilities but the entire park is well maintained. There is a small playground for kids but truthfully, my kids didn't use it since they were in the little river the entire time!

4. There is lots of neat stuff to do in the area. We went to Lincoln, NM, where Billy the Kid had his shoot-outs and it was really cool -- if want other activities besides the campgrounds, you can find fun things near-by. 

5. We had NO PROBLEMS with the power. We'd started our 4th of July weekend at Rockhound State Park -- but the power was so bad that we had to leave. Thankfully Donna was able to accommodate us and we spent the weekend here and the power was great. 

I don't have any negatives - So far, this is my favorite campground we've used in NM. I'm really looking forward to returning.

Thanks Barry and Donna!

— missilegirl, Albuquerque, NM

June 2017

a perfect spot to relax

This is the second time we have used this campground and we LOVE it! They made some improvements since the last time and it improved the area. The 'river' is so relaxing to walk or sit by. It's very clean and the troublemakers are asked to leave. Very family friendly!!!!

— Melissia W.

Barry & Donna are so helpful-finding the right spot, recommending activities to make your stay memorable, etc. The location along a wooded streambed was perfect for a trip to the mountains. It was far enough removed from Ruidoso to be quiet and serene.

— Michael B, Port Orange, Florida

April 2017

what an idyllic spot

May 2017

Barry and Donna are amazing host. They make sure you are happy and comfortable. They go out of their way to make your stay and experience one you won't forget. Showers, bathrooms, plenty of peace and quiet. We stayed for 4 nights, and they checked on us daily or just to say hi. Very pretty site to stay at. Easy access to town. They suggest places to go and have a good time, what shops to go to, and what type of shops there are. You can see wildlife and there is a creek that runs along the property to enjoy.

— Ruth D, Seminole, Texas

super amazing

nice weekend getaway!

March 2017

We spent the weekend of March 17th at Along The River RV park and had a very nice and relaxing time. Barry, the owner and host, was friendly and accommodating. He took us to our campsite and helped to spot our travel trailer in the numbered space we had reserved, and then leveled the trailer after I had backed it in! The park was clean and quiet. Cell phone service is very spotty but they do offer free Wi-Fi. It didn't matter to us though as we were there to relax, not play on the computer or phone! They have a landline at the office that you can use if you need to make a call. Each site has a portable fire pit and Barry will deliver a generous portion of firewood to your camp (reasonably priced) if you so desire. We stayed in space #43(which had plenty of room for our 25' travel trailer) on the south end with the river running right behind us. Campsites are a little close together but we didn't mind. The nice steady drone of the little river/creek was compensation enough! Highly Recommend!!

— Roy M, Midland, Texas  

always a treat!

May 2017

This is our second time to visit Along The River. The park is very clean and quiet. Donna, Barry, and Matt are always a pleasure, and, as always, extremely cordial and helpful. Just ten short minutes to Ruidoso, and also very close to historic Lincoln, Capitan, Fort Stanton, as well as many wilderness areas with fishing, horseback riding, and hiking. This spot will always be our mainstay when traveling in southern New Mexico. 

— Shawn M, Dallas, Texas                                                                                            

September 2016


My Husband and I with our two small dogs spent a week at the park in Sept. We were given a great spot near the back next to a bubbling brook with a beautiful bridge. It had lovely shade trees and lots of birds. The deer come in every morning and evening to eat the crab apples falling from the trees. The owners were very friendly and very helpful. I would certainly go back again for sure. We love Ruidoso. There are tent campers on the other side of the bridge that walk across to use the shower and bathroom facility they have. My husband said it was very clean in there, but I showered in our RV. They have firewood to purchase if you want. Nice picnic tables and bench swings. Everybody had dogs and were good about picking up after their pooches. The well water didn't bother my husband at all but if you get "Delhi belly" like I do, I would suggest drinking bottled water,. Clean, quiet and safe. If you want to get drunk and be loud the owner won't tolerate it. Mixed group, some young families with children and older seniors. You won't be disappointed.

— Anonymous, Dallas

nice clean park


We love this place. We've been coming here for years. We're always greeted by Barry and Donna warmly and with big smiles. Both go out of their way to make us feel at home in their beautiful, well-kept RV Park. We tell everyone coming this way to stay here while in the Ruidoso, Capitan, Lincoln area!

— Steve & Bonnie G.

been coming here for years

October 2016

jewel of an rv park

August 2016

The owners of this sweet little RV park are the nicest owners we have ever met! We were greeted as we were setting up. Barry brought us a step for the RV after we got set up so the last step wasn't so high on the door of the RV. Barry and Donna take pride in this RV park. Very clean grounds and bathhouse facilities. Super location by the Rio Bonito river. The mule deer and elk wandered around. This is a jewel of an rv park.. We were about 10 minutes from Ruidoso. The weather was beautiful, few rain storms but not interfere with activities. Thanks Barry and Donna for a great 5 days in the mountains!! 

— Wade & Stephanie C.



August 2016

So quiet

Stayed this past weekend. I was in Ruidoso to sell kettle corn at the Zia Fest. I had previously stayed at another RV park but other campers were very loud there and I wasn't able to sleep. We camped in our tent and it was so quiet at Along the River RV Park, which was wonderful because I was exhausted after a long day of working. There are only two showers but I woke up at 5 each morning to make sure I was able to get ready for the day. Wish I wasn't having to work the whole time so that we could have enjoyed the park more. We will stay again for sure! I just hope I don't have to go only for work!

— Heather S.

quiet and relaxing

We make it a point to make two trips to Ruidoso and our must stay park is Along the River. Donna and Barry are the best hosts ever. Always ready to make our stay memorable and relaxing.

— Dan & Dolores P., Las Lunas, NM

August 2017

My wife and I stayed there for five nights. Staff can't seem to do enough to help in any way they can. The park is clean and quite. We can't wait until we can visit again .We had no problems with WiFi. We could only get two channels on television, but when you are in a place as beautiful as that, why would you want to watch tv? I do not understand how anyone could not have a wonderful time at Along The River RV Park unless you don't know how to read and follow the park rules. 

— CD

staff can't seem to do enough

September 2016

August 2016


would rate 10 stars if i could

This is the ONLY RV park we ever stay in when we visit Ruidoso! Gorgeous surroundings...peaceful nights....fun filled days especially for our 3 children who always find new friends to play with at the park. Would rate it 10 stars if i could!

— Dina M.


March 2018


nice, clean campground

My wife and I spent this past weekend here and we had a good time. It wasn't crowded at all, but it was also the 1st weekend of March so camping isn't a big thing this time of year. Campground is clean and well maintained. We had a spot next to the creek that runs alongside the camp so that was nice. They have benches and swings you can sit at which was nice to sit and eat it. We had no problems with electricity or sewer hookups. The people who watched the camp during the off season were nice and left you to yourselves, but were there if you had questions. We didn't have cell phone service there, but they have Wi-Fi there so we could get messages out of we needed to. My only complaint would be that the spots are kind of close together so it could be a little crowded and louder during the busy season. I would stay here again and I would recommend it if you are looking for a campground with hookups in the Ruidoso area.

— Ryan R, Earth, Texas

5* Barry and Donna go the extra mile to help their campers. We are park host there and you could not ask for a nicer couple. Come on down and enjoy.

— Janis P., Texas

Come down & Enjoy

May 2016


March 2016

Had a great time!

Just wanted to say that once again, we had a great time at your place. Another chance to build a memory with my son. See you next time. Thank you.

— TJ, El Paso, Texas

Immediately Greeted

We decided to come to the Ruidoso, NM as a last minute change after our previous plans were interrupted due to weather. When we arrived, we were immediately greeted by one of the residents who was attending to the camp while the owners were away. We were offered the choice of whatever site we wanted, which was a nice change from the typical "you are assigned site #..." Most all sites have fire rings/tubs as well as many had picnic tables. We camped at Along the River Park in a Fifth Wheel.

— Charles M., Texas

March 2016



We loved the deer and ducks

May 2018

We loved this park. The owners were wonderful. Barry was super at helping us get backed into our spot. Site 32 is the best!! All the trees around our campsite and the river gently flowing by was amazing! We loved the deer and ducks as well. We were there during the week and there was no one else in our area so it was very quiet and peaceful. There is so much to do in the area as well. We went up on a mountain and were able to see 14 wild horses! We also went to Fort Stanton, Lincoln (Billy the Kid), Three Rivers Petroglyph site, White Sands National Monument and Roswell just to name a few. We would highly recommend this RV park!

— Kenneth & Rebecca D., Sulphur Springs, TX


have always enjoyed our stay

April 2016

The Eiven's and Willson's have always enjoyed our stay each year! The owners are very caring people who want to make you come back AGAIN! We even have been known to call Barry, Ranger Bob.........


absolutely amazing

Owners and camp hosts were all very nice. The cabin was located around a bunch of trees and right by the river. Couldn't have asked for a better place to spend time with family.

— Cody & Kristi D.

July 2017

Highly Recommended!!!



July 2016

We just got back from our holiday weekend stay, and wish we were still there!! The owners, Barry & Donna, went out of their way to make us feel at home! Barry delivered firewood ($) to us nightly & made sure we were enjoying our stay. Our tent spot by the river was amazing & picturesque! Restrooms were always maintained clean!! Before leaving, made a reservation for our next camping trip in August!!

P.S. my wife says they need more bathrooms! Lol

— Azar R.


This was our first stay at Along the River and it definitely will not be our last. Donna and Barry actually cared that we were there and made us feel very welcomed. Barry checked on all campers in the park throughout the day, which told us he wanted to ensure safety and give campers opportunity for quiet relaxation time. We were impressed by the tidiness of the camp and the updates that Barry told us about. Tent and RV spots available. 30 and 50 amp spots. We can't wait to go back!

— landrus711, Slaton, Texas

Accommodating 

June 2016

We Stayed Two Weekends in a Row

Barry and Donna were absolutely awesome. They are so accommodating and helpful while maintaining a clean and friendly environment. We stayed two weekends in a row and will be back for many, many more. We felt so good about our hosts that we invited them to share our fire-top beef stew, cheddar grits, and corn bread. What a great evening with new friends.

— Jim A, Slaton, Texas

June 2016


June 2016

This Place is Amazing

One of the most beautiful places we ever stayed, Staff & owners were so nice & helpful, assisted with getting leveled in our site & even brought us a pallet to put under our stairs. We will definitely be back!

— Pat & Rhonda K., Wimberley, TX

Natural beauty & Friendly Staff

June 2018

I've stayed at this place four times. This place is amazing for families and first time campers. The restrooms and showers are spotless. If you are not really into camping, give this place a shot and then judge for yourself.

— Izhar G.